The Woman in the Camphor Trunk

 

An Anna Blanc Mystery

Jennifer Kincheloe

304 pp
ISBN 978-1-63388-363-5
Paperback • $15.95
September 2017

Also available in ebook format
US/CAN rights

 

 

 

 

Los Angeles, 1908. In Chinatown, the most dangerous beat in Los Angeles, police matron Anna Blanc and her former sweetheart, Detective Joe Singer, discover the body of a white missionary woman, stuffed in a trunk in the apartment of her Chinese lover.

 

If news about the murder gets out, there will be a violent backlash against the Chinese. Joe and Anna work to solve the crime quietly and keep the death a secret, reluctantly helped by the good-looking Mr. Jones, a prominent local leader.

Meanwhile, the kidnapping of two slave girls fuels existing tensions, leaving Chinatown poised on the verge of a bloody tong war. Joe orders Anna to stay away, but Anna is determined to solve the crime before news of the murder is leaked and Chinatown explodes.




“Anna Blanc is back with another brilliant and captivating romp! The Woman in the Camphor Trunkis as fast, funny, and rich as the first excellent book in the series, with a tightly plotted mystery, compelling characters, and a vividly drawn setting. The extraordinary Anna navigates turn-of-the-century Los Angeles with a fearless and feisty charm. A fascinating read—not to be missed!”

—CYNTHIA KUHN, Agatha Award–winning author of the Lila Maclean Academic Mysteries

“Jennifer Kincheloe brings turn-of-the-century Los Angeles vividly to life in this novel featuring a police matron turned detective. Anna is delightfully fearless, independent, and a woman way ahead of her time. Her sparring love-hate relationship with the young police detective brings lighter moments to a tense drama involving LA’s Chinatown.”

—RHYS BOWEN, New York Times–bestselling author of In Farleigh Field and the Molly Murphy and Royal Spyness mysteries 

“Kincheloe’s memorable heroine, Assistant Matron Anna Blanc of the 1908 LAPD, has a new case to crack—this time in Los Angeles’s Chinatown, where issues of race, gender, and class collide. Readers will race through the pages to follow Anna and her dedicated colleague (and sometimes-beau) Detective Joe Singer as they work to discover who murdered a white missionary and left her body in a trunk in a Chinatown apartment. Current fans, as well as those new to Anna’s plucky spirit and quick wits, will find her latest adventure a delight.”

—CYNTHIA SWANSON, New York Times–bestselling author of The Bookseller and The Glass Forest

“A twisting roller-coaster ride through 1908 Los Angeles, with one of the funniest, most engaging detectives readers will ever meet. The Woman in the Camphor Trunk is the perfect blend of mystery and wit—a real page-turner and an absolute delight.”

—SUSAN SPANN, author of the Hiro Hattori novels/Shinobi mysteries

“[A] winning sequel…. Kincheloe skillfully juxtaposes a witty, playful voice with richly evocative details that bring L.A.’s Chinatown—and its long history of ethnic tensions—to life.”

Publishers Weekly

“The feisty heroine’s sleuthing abilities and tricky love life make it hard to put this fast-paced historical mystery/romance down and leave you wanting more.”

Kirkus Reviews

 

PRAISE FOR THE SECRET LIFE OF ANNA BLANC:

“Delightful…. Anna is a wonderfully independent character. Fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy and Kerry Greenwood’s Miss Phryne Fisher will become fast friends with Anna Blanc.”

Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

“A fun novel with an I Love Lucy-meets-Agatha Christie adventure.”

RT Book Reviews

“A humorously delightful historical mystery…. [Anna’s] moxie leaves the reader cheering through tears of laughter. It doesn’t require Sherlock to deduce that this suspenseful, smart and funny book is a crack debut.”

Shelf Awareness for Readers, STARRED REVIEW

“Anna is a delightful young heroine—by turns immensely resourceful and then as wildly impetuous as only a teenager can be. As she dons one false identity after another we get to witness her intelligence and adaptability…. The pace is fast, fun, and furious and will leave your head spinning.”

MysteryPeople

“Anna Blanc is one of the most engaging characters from a debut novel. She is smart, witty and captivating while also very innocent. Anna’s adventuresome spirit and determination to achieve her dream make for a strong story line. The descriptions of 1907 Los Angeles are vivid with details that transport you back in time. Kudos to Kincheloe for a highly entertaining roller coaster of a ride novel.”

The Examiner, FIVE STARS

“With its breathtaking attention to period detail, endearing characters, abundance of suspense, and shocking surprise twist ending, The Secret Life of Anna Blanc is a must for mystery fans. Highly recommended!”

The Internet Review of Books

“Anna is a quirky, gutsy protagonist, who won me over from the first chapter.”—Night Owl Suspense


Buy this Book:


Amazon


Barnes & Noble

 

Books a Million