Black Karma

A White Ginger Novel

Thatcher Robinson

 

275 pp
ISBN 978-1-61614-003-8
Paperback • $15.95
November 2014

World Rights

 

 

Bai Jiang uses her wits and martial skills to navigate the underworld of San Francisco’s Chinatown, where drugs, multiple murders, crooked cops, and out-of-control clandestine agencies are just part of her problems.

 

Bai Jiang-San Francisco's best-known souxun ("people finder")-is hired to track down the mysterious Daniel Chen. Police inspector Kelly suspects Chen of being involved in a botched drug heist that resulted in the death of an officer. Bai has her own suspicions. She thinks the police just want to see Chen dead. 

Her investigation leads Bai into deadly intrigue as she finds herself caught between international intelligence agencies and merchants of war, who deal in death, drugs, and high-jacked information. 

To make matters worse, she's thirty-something and dating again. It's not easy juggling a suitor with family connections, a brazen young man who finds her irresistible, and her ex-the father of her child. 

World conflict and family strife explode as adversaries face off in San Francisco's Chinatown, a world away from the one we know.

 


 

“Fast-moving and enticing, this is a wonderful sophomore effort from Robinson…. Bai is a strong, memorable protagonist with an intriguing backstory and lots of potential to grow. Highly recommended for fans of S.J. Rozan’s “Lydia Chin” series or Sara Paretsky’s “V.I. Warshawski” mysteries.”
Library Journal STARRED REVIEW

“A fantastic combination of relatable badass heroine and thrilling situations that many other books only let the menfolk handle. ”
RT Book Reviews 

“There’s something wonderfully appealing about Bai—a combination of a knife-throwing ninja warrior, a fairy godmother, Publishers Weekly

“Jiang is developing into a complex series character and one whom readers will be impatient to meet again.” 
Booklist

 

 


Buy this Book:


Amazon


Barnes & Noble

 

Books a Million